Monday, October 25, 2010

The Fourfold Yoga - The Science of the Superconscient 1

Yoga is derived from the word "Yuj" which means to unite.
Union with Cosmic Creative Intelligence is the aim of Yoga.
The Fourfold Yoga has been prescribed for Cosmic Union in
Oriental Philosophies. They are
1. Union via Action ( Karma Yoga ) 2. Union via Psychic
Control ( Raja Yoga ) 3. Union via Universal Love ( Bhakthi
Yoga ) 4. Union via Wisdom ( Jnana Yoga )
Union via Action is for the person of active temparament.
Union via Psychic Contro is for the person of adventurous
temparament Union via Universal Love is for the person of
emotional temparament. Union via Wisdom is for the person
of intellectual temparament.
These four paths are not different from one another. They
are all part of the Fourfold Yoga.
Certain qualities are to be inculcated in the seeker if he
is to achieve the Ultimate Goal.
Prajna has been defined as the discriminative intellect.
When the intellect discriminates between the Real & the
Unreal. The intellect which discriminates between Being and
Non-Being. This quality should be incorporated by the
Intellectual Man if he is to progress in the path of Jnana
Love is defined as the greatest of all the positive
qualities of man. This quality is to be incorporated by the
Emotional Man if he is to progress in the field of Bhakthi
Control of Mind or Psychic Control through Raja Yoga should
be incorporated by the Adventurous Man if he is to progress
in the field of Raja Yoga.
Selfless Service should be incorporated by the Active Man if
he is to progress in the field of Karma Yoga.
In other words, since the Fourfold Yoga has been prescribed
for mankind , all these four great qualities - Selfless
service, love, psychic control & the discriminative
intellect should be incorporated by the spiritual aspirant
to develop in the field of Yoga.
Yoga was defined by Aurobindo as a methodic process towards
self-perfection through a development of the latent
potential at the five levels of Being - physical, vital,
mental, intellectual & spiritual. Normal man lives only in
the first three sheaths - physical, vital & mental. Only
when we use our hidden spiritual potential - the
intellectual & the bliss sheaths - can be unfold our full
mental potential.
The Seven States of Consciousness
Man lives in 3 relative states of Consciousnes- waking,
dreaming & Dreamless sleep known in Sanskrit as Jagrata,
Swapna & Sushupti. Now there is a Transcendental state of
Consciousness known as the Fourth ( Tureeya ) & there are
still higher states of Consciousness.
These are the seven states
1 .Waking 2. Dreaming ( REM sleep ) 3. Dreamless Sleep (
non- REM ) 4. Transcendental Consciousness ( T C) 5.
Cosmic Consciousness ( C C ) 6. Glorified State of Cosmic
Consciousness ( G C ) 7. Unified State of Cosmic
Consciousness ( U C )
In his Phd Thesis "The physiological effects of
Transcendental Meditation, a Proposed Fourth Major state of
Consciousness " Dr Robert Keith Wallace proved the existence
of a fourth major state of Consciousness ( T C ).
Cosmic Consciousness is a state where TC & the 3 relative
states coexist.

No comments:

Post a Comment